My Clever Duztin

We purchased a family grain mill from the Bosch store in SLC last summer, we love it!  It is a hand grain mill that mills most grains very fine without extreme effort (our 5yo can do it).   There is an adapter to add a motor or use it with a bosch or kitchenaid.  Not having either of those bases or the extra $ to buy them my clever Duztin made his own adapter from an extra large allen wrench (I had no idea they came in that size) and connected it to his hammer drill.  Result? perfect flours fast, about 20 cups in 15 minutes!  Using what we had on hand and $2 for the allen wrench. 

Yes, we use wierd grain, Kamut and Spelt, as our staple grains.  They are wonderful, there has been a learning curve as they have different properties than wheat.  We have made the switch mainly due to a severe allergy to wheat that has been coming on the last 2 years.  Last summer it progressed to the point where I could no longer breathe if I ate anything with wheat in it.  Easy choice, I prefer to breathe.  I am not hosting a restaurant in my home so my family has followed me in this diet change, we have discovered that 2 of our girls were probably sensitive to wheat as well based on improvements in their health after making the switch.    We purchase our grains at Honeyville Grains location in SLC near the airport, they can also be purchased at Maple Leaf Industries in Ephraim, UT.

We have been changing our diet from “The Great American- Over Processed Diet” to a traditional approach using the book “Nourishing Traditions” by Sally Fallon.  Eating this way is more effort but, we are more conscious of what we put into our bodies.  We are still in baby step phase, it is an interesting journey but full of benefits.

Best Wishes!

Sarah

3 Comments

Filed under Health & Nutrition

3 responses to “My Clever Duztin

  1. I love that book. One of my friends here lent me her copy and I loved it enough to buy my own. You are so lucky to have sources for grains like that out there. We don’t have that here. I have to buy up when we go out west which actually hasn’t happend in the last 7 years. :o( Sometimes my stake makes huge grain orders and I can piggy back mine with theirs. But that doesn’t happen regularly.

  2. twolittlehands

    Honeyvillegrain ships anywhere in the US for $4.95, I can’t find Kamut or Spelt on their website so you would have to call.

    Here is another option for buying in bulk (I think the minimum is 1000lbs)
    http://www.montanaflour.com/index.html

    Sarah

Leave a Reply

